New Mexico Cannabis State Laws | CashCropToday
0 Shares 64 Views

New Mexico Cannabis State Laws

December 21, 2017
64 Views

New Mexico has incorporated decriminalization laws, however, bills that were introduced based around legalizing marijuana did not go through. Also, PISD patients have been denied medical marijuana.

Possession:

1 oz or less (first offense)

  • Misdemeanor
  • 15 days incarceration
  • $100 fine

1 oz or less (second offense)

  • Misdemeanor
  • 1-year incarceration
  • $1,000 fine

More than 1 – less than 8 oz

  • Misdemeanor
  • 1-year incarceration
  • $1,000 fine

8 oz or more

  • Felony
  • 1 and a half years incarceration
  • $5,000 fine

Selling/Distribution:

100 lbs or less (first offense)

  • Felony
  • 1 and a half years incarceration
  • $5,000 fine

(Second Offense)

  • Felony
  • 3 years incarceration
  • $5,000 fine

100 lbs or more (first offense)

  • Felony
  • 3 years incarceration
  • $5,000 fine

(Second Offense)

  • Felony
  • 9 years incarceration
  • $10,000 fine

To a minor (first offense)

  • Felony
  • 3 years incarceration
  • $5,000 fine

(Second Offense)

  • Felony
  • 9 years incarceration
  • $10,000 fine

Within a drug-free school zone

  • Felony
  • 18 years incarceration
  • $15,000 fine

Growing/Cultivation:

Any Amount (first offense)

  • Felony
  • 9 years incarceration
  • $10,000 fine

(second offense)

  • Felony
  • 18 years incarceration
  • $15,000 fine

Within a drug-free school zone

  • Felony
  • 18 years incarceration
  • $15,000 fine

If a person who is 15 years or older is found delinquent of violating the Controlled Substances Act, their license may revoke.

Medical Marijuana:

Qualifying Conditions

  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease)
  • Anorexia/cachexia
  • Arthritis
  • Cancer
  • Cervical dystonia
  • Chronic pain
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Hospice patients
  • Huntington’s disease
  • Intractable nausea/vomiting
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Painful peripheral neuropathy
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Post-traumatic Stress Disorder
  • Spinal cord damage

Patient Limits:

Eight ounces of medical cannabis (over a 90-day period)

Home Cultivation:

Yes, 16 plants (four mature, 12 immature)

Currently Pending: A number of marijuana policy reform bills were introduced during the 2017 legislative session, which ended on March 18, but unfortunately, none of them became law.

You may be interested

MedMen Begins Construction of Cannabis Cultivation and Manufacturing Facility in California
Growers
4 views
Growers
4 views

MedMen Begins Construction of Cannabis Cultivation and Manufacturing Facility in California

Sam Rosenberg - May 24, 2018

Med Men Enterprises has begun construction on a large scale cultivation and manufacturing facility in Desert Hot Springs, California. The new facility is expected to become operational…

Canopy Growth Corp. to Begin Trading on New York Stock Exchange Today
Market Watch
4 views
Market Watch
4 views

Canopy Growth Corp. to Begin Trading on New York Stock Exchange Today

Sam Rosenberg - May 24, 2018

Canopy Growth Corporation (TSX: WEED) announced this morning that the company is expected to begin trading on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) this morning under the ticker…

Colorado Passes Bill to Allow Public Companies to Invest into Cannabis  Businesses
Politics
7 views
Politics
7 views

Colorado Passes Bill to Allow Public Companies to Invest into Cannabis Businesses

Sam Rosenberg - May 23, 2018

Colorado has just passed a House Bill 18-1011 which will allow publicly trade companies in the U.S. to invest and hold medicinal or recreational cannabis cultivation, processing,…

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Most from this category

%d bloggers like this: