State Laws

North Carolina Cannabis State Laws

Earlier this year North Carolina introduced 3 medical marijuana bills to it’s legislative, however, there has been no action taken on the protection towards medical marijuana.

Possession:

0.5 oz or less

  • Misdemeanor
  • Only a $200 fine

0.5 – 1.5 oz

  • Misdemeanor
  • 1-45 Days incarceration
  • $1,000 fine

More than 1.5 oz

  • Felony
  • 3-8 Months Incarceration
  • $1,000 fine

Possession in a penal institution

  • Felony
  • 4-8 Months Incarceration
  • Fine depends on amount found

Selling/Distribution:

Less than 10 lbs

  • Felony
  • 4-8 Months INcarceration
  • $1,000 fine

More than 10 lbs – 10,000 lbs or more

  • Felony
  • 25 – 222 Months Incarceration
  • $5,000 – $200,000 fine

Selling to a pregnant woman or minor

  • Felony
  • 3-8 Years Incarceration
  • Fine changes based on 1st, 2nd, or 3rd offense

Within 1000 feet of school, child care center, or park grounds

  • Felony
  • 1-3 Years Incarceration
  • Fine to be determined by offense

Growing/Cultivation:

10 lbs or less

  • Felony
  • 3-8 Months Incarceration
  • $1,000 fine

10 lbs to 10,000 lbs and more

  • Felony
  • 2-18 Years Incarceration
  • $5,000 – $200,000 fine

Medical Marijuana:

North Carolina has enacted Prohibition of medical marijuana.

 

Current: North Carolina is one of 22 states that has enacted the right to stop enforcing jail time to those that have marijuana on them during the time of possible arrest, so decriminalization.

Related posts

Montana Cannabis State Laws

kristen fisher

South Carolina Cannabis State Laws

kristen fisher

Banking Woes Continue for Cannabis Businesses in Legalized States in the U.S.

creativemind

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: