They saw Massachusetts is ever so close to legalizing recreational marijuana. Since 2012 over 64% of Massachusetts population voted in favor for cannabis and that means the state’s legislature must compile.
More Than 1 Ounce
- Misdemeanor – 6 months incarceration – $500 fine
- Misdemeanor – 2 years incarceration – $2,000 fine
Possession of 1 oz or less cannot result in the suspension of driving privileges.
Less Than 50 lbs (1st & 2nd Offenses)
- Crime is not classified (could be seen a civil penalty)
- Few months to 2,5 years incarceration
- $5,000 to $10,000 fine
Less Than 100lbs Up To 10,000
- 1 to 15 years incarceration
- $10,000 to $200,000 fine
Within 300 feet of a school, or within 100 feet of a public park
- Felony – 2 to 15 years incarceration – $10,000 fine
Involving an 18-year-old
- Felony – 5 to 15 years incarceration – $100,000 fine
- No conviction – no incarceration – no fine
Recreational Marijuana is legal in Massachusetts, up to 1 ounce outside of a 21-year-olds residence and within the individuals own residence up to 10 ounces.
Also authorized is the ability to grow up to 6 plants within a home and as can provide marijuana as a gift to another (1 ounce) without any form of payment established.