This proposal would:
* Allow individuals 21 and older to purchase, possess and use marijuana and marijuana-infused edibles, and grow up to 12 marijuana plants for personal consumption.
* Impose a 10-ounce limit for marijuana kept at residences and require amounts over 2.5 ounces be secured in locked containers.
* Create a state licensing system for marijuana businesses and allow municipalities to ban or restrict them.
* Permit retail sales of marijuana and edibles subject to a 10% tax, dedicated to implementation costs, clinical trials, schools, roads, and municipalities where marijuana businesses are located.
* Change several current violations from crimes to civil infractions.
A”yes” vote will amend the Missouri Constitution to allow the use of marijuana for medical purposes under state laws. This amendment does not change federal law, which makes marijuana possession, sale and cultivation a federal offense. This amendment creates regulations and licensing procedures for medical marijuana and medical marijuana facilities – dispensary, cultivation, testing and marijuana-infused product manufacturing facilities. This amendment creates licensing fees for such facilities. This amendment will impose a 4 percent tax on the retail sale of marijuana for medical purposes by dispensary facilities. The funds from the license fees and tax will be used by the Missouri Veterans Commission for health and care services for military veterans, and by the Department of Health and Senior Services to administer the program to license/certify and regulate marijuana and marijuana facilities.
This initiated statutory measure would amend Chapter 19-03.1 to remove hashish, marijuana, and tetrahydrocannabinols from the list of Schedule I hallucinogenic controlled substances set forth in the Uniform Controlled Substances Act. The measure would decriminalize the possession of marijuana by an individual 21 years of age or older and provide for the same penalty as the penalty associated with a minor in possession of alcohol, for the possession of marijuana by an individual under the age of 21. The measure would provide the penalty for the distribution of marijuana to an individual under the age of 21 would be the same penalty as if an individual sold alcohol to a minor. The measure would require that any individual who has an illegitimate drug conviction have the individual’s records expunged and sealed by the court automatically. The measure would require the state to pay all legal expenses for both parties and would authorize an individual to sue the state for damages caused by a failure to properly expunge records. The measure would create Chapter 66-01 to provide a definition for marijuana and marijuana paraphernalia and a general repeal of any conflicting language in Century Code.
Proposition 2 does not eliminate or change Utah’s existing cannabis-related law but adds to it in two main ways. First, the Proposition adds a parallel path for cannabis production and distribution by authorizing the establishment of private facilities that grow, process, test, and sell medical cannabis. Second, the Proposition establishes a parallel process for people to receive approval to use medical cannabis, expanding the group of people eligible to use medical cannabis.