The state of Minnesota may be strict with the cannabis laws they have in effect, however, the state is starting to show a slow forward progression and an open mind when it comes to cannabis. While it may take some time until certain actions will be considered legal, here are the cannabis state laws for Minnesota today:
Penalties For Possession:
42.5 grams or less
- $200 fine with a misdemeanor. No jail time.
More than 42.5 grams but Less than 10 kg
- $10,000 fine with a felony and 5 years incarceration.
10 kg – less than 50 kg
- $250,000 fine with a felony and 20 years incarceration.
50 – less than 100 kg
- $500,000 fine with a felony and 25 years incarceration.
100 kg or more
- $1,000,000 fine with a felony and 30 years incarceration.
More than 1.4 grams inside one’s vehicle (except the trunk)
- Considered a misdemeanor
- 90 days incarceration
- $1,000 fine
Note that a conditional discharge is possible for first-time offenders impotenzastop.it.
More than 42.5 grams but Less than 5 kg
- 5 years incarceration
- $10,000 fine
More than 5 kg
- 20-35 years incarceration
- $250,000 – $1,000,000 fine
Importing 100 kg or more or using a minor to import
- 35 years incarceration
- $1,250,000 fine
Within a school zone or other specified areas
- 15 years incarceration
A conviction for possession or sale while driving may result in a 30-day driver’s license suspension.
Minnesota declared that the consumption of medical marijuana should be smoke-free. There are 8 medical marijuana dispensaries in the state and you must have a medical I.D. to obtain.
These list of conditions can help you qualify for a medical I.D.
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Crohn’s disease
- Intractable pain
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms
- Terminal illness
- Tourette’s Syndrome
- 30 Days
- No caregivers
- No cultivation
So far there have been no major changes to Minnesota’s Marijuana State Laws as of 2017. Hopefully, 2018 will show better progress.