Mississippi is one of 14 states that are headed towards progressive marijuana laws being looked at and passed in 2017 into 2018.
30 grams or less (first offense)
- $250 fine
30 grams or less (second offense)
- 5 – 60 days incarceration
- $250 fine
- 5 days – 6 months incarceration
- $1,000 fine
30 grams or more
- 1 – 30 years incarceration
- $1,000 – $1,000,000 fine
Up to 30 grams – 500 grams
- 3 – 20 years incarceration
- $3,000 – $20,000 fine
To a minor or within 1500 feet of a school, church, or other designated area is a felony that carries double incarceration period and fines.
- Punishment by law will be determined by aggregated weight of the plants found
Any conviction will result in a 6 months driver’s license suspension.
Currently Pending: While 29 states and the District of Columbia allow medical cannabis, seriously ill patients in Mississippi are still criminalized if they use this safe and effective treatment option. However, the bill HB 179, which would establish a medical marijuana pilot program in the state, allowing seriously ill patients suffering from certain specific conditions to use and safely access medical cannabis with a doctor’s recommendation.