Missouri Cannabis State Laws

Missouri passed a decriminalizing act and in early 2017 this went into effect.


Up to 10 grams (first offense)

  • Misdemeanor – $500 fine – no jail time

Up to 10 grams (second offense)

  • Misdemeanor – 1-year incarceration – $2,000 fine

More than 10 grams – 35 grams

  • Misdemeanor – 1-year incarceration – $2,000 fine

More than 35 grams – 30 kg

  • Felony – 7 years incarceration – $10,000 fine

Possession of more than 35g, but less than 30kg, has often, historically, been charged with intent to distribute.


  • Any Sale or Distribution is an automatic Felony.
  • Anywhere from 4 to 30 years incarceration.
  • $10,000 to $50,000 fine

Selling to a Minor:

  • Felony
  • 3 -15 years incarceration
  • $20,000+ fine


35 grams or Less

  • Felony
  • 4 years incarceration
  • $10,000 fine

More Than 35 grams

  • Felony
  • 5-30 years incarceration
  • $50,000 + fine


35 grams or less/35 grams or more

  • Felony
  • 3 – 15 years incarceration
  • $10,000 fine then doubled based on second offense

Persistent Drug Offender – if found guilty of two or more felony offenses relating to controlled substances, and, if found guilty of Class C, D or E felony, shall be sentenced two classes higher than the offense. If found guilty of a Class B felony, the offender shall be sentenced to the term of imprisonment for a Class A felony—10 to 30 years, or life.

Abuse and Lose – Possession of controlled substance results in 90-day suspension of driving privilege if under 21

Currently Pending:

House Bill 437: The legislation would allow patients with painful, incurable illnesses to be treated with medical marijuana. However, this was stated in March and so far no more information has been posted about this bill. There may be some sort of response in 2018.

Related posts

South Carolina Cannabis State Laws


Standard Wellness Opens The Forest in Sandusky, Serves First Patient in Ohio


Banking Woes Continue for Cannabis Businesses in Legalized States in the U.S.


Leave a Comment