Yes, New Hampshire has joined a selection of states for decriminalizing cannabis.
Up to 3/4 oz (first or second offense)
- Civil Violation
- $100 fine
Over 3/4 oz
- 1-year incarceration
- $350 fine
Less than 1 oz (first offense)
- 3-years incarceration
- $25,000 fine
1 oz – less than 5 lbs (first offense)
- 7 years incarceration
- $100,000 fine
5 lbs or more (first offense)
- 20 years incarceration
- $300,000 fine
The subsequent offense carries a greater sentence and fine.
Within 1000 feet of a school zone carries a double sentence and fine.
Persons under 21 years will face a driver’s license suspension for 90 days – 1 year.
New Hampshire has gone through a long-awaited wait when it comes to medical marijuana, below is a timeline to showcase exactly what has happened:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Chemotherapy-induced anorexia
- Chronic Pain
- Chronic pancreatitis
- Crohn’s disease
- Ehlers-Danlos syndrome
- Elevated intraocular pressure
- Hepatitis C (currently receiving antiviral treatment)
- Moderate to severe vomiting
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Muscular Dystrophy
- Parkinson’s disease
- Persistent muscle spasms
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
- Severe pain (that has not responded to previously prescribed medication)
- Spinal cord injury or disease
- Traumatic brain injury
- Wasting syndrome
Under the new law, effective September 16, 2017, penalties for possessing three quarters of an ounce or less of marijuana are reduced from a criminal misdemeanor to a civil violation punishable only by a fine.
Currently Pending: One bill named HB 472, which would allow qualifying patients and caregivers to cultivate up to two mature plants and 12 seedlings, was dismissed, however, it may be going through the house to be voted on again.