North Dakota Cannabis State Laws

North Dakota agreed that medical marijuana should be given right, however, a certain lawmaker decided that residents had to live within a specific range (miles) from a dispensary. Otherwise, an individual can charge a criminal charge.


1 oz or less

  • Misdemeanor
  • 30 Days Incarceration
  • $1,500 fine

More than 1 oz – More than 500 grams

  • Felony
  • 5-10 Years Incarceration
  • $10,000 – $20,000 fine

Any amount within 1000 feet of a school

  • Felony
  • 10 Years Incarceration
  • $20,000 fine


Any Amount

  • Felony
  • 3-10 years Incarceration
  • $20,000 fine

Using a Minor

  • Felony
  • 10 years Incarceration
  • $20,000 fine

Any amount within 1000 feet of a school

  • Felony
  • 20 Years Incarceration
  • $20,000 fine

Any conviction requires the offender to undergo a drug addiction evaluation.

Juveniles may have their driver’s license suspended for up to 6 months.

Medical Marijuana:

Qualifying Conditions

  • Agitation from Alzheimer’s disease or related dementia
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
  • Cachexia or Wasting syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Chronic or debilitating disease
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Epilepsy
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • Intractable nausea
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Seizures
  • Severe and persistent muscle spasms
  • Severe debilitating pain
  • Spinal stenosis

Patient Limits

  • Patients who possess a physician’s recommendation may legally obtain up to three ounces of herbal medical cannabis provided by state-licensed dispensaries.

Currently Pending:

While some of the provisions of the voter-approved medical cannabis measure — such as home cultivation for patients who live more than 40 miles from a dispensary — did not make it into the final bill, much of the voters’ will remains intact. And, crucially, the language of the final law ensures patients will not be subject to criminal prosecution under state law


Leave a Comment