Virginia Cannabis Laws

Marijuana remains mostly illegal in Virginia and the crimes carry some severe penalties, although they have relaxed–if only a little–on CBD for seizure patients.

Recreational Marijuana

…cannabis laws in the state are harsh. Anyone caught with less than a half an ounce of pot will face a jail term of up to 30 days and a fine of as much as $500 — and that’s just for a first offense. If you are caught a second or subsequent time, the penalties jump to up to a year in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. The law formerly also called for an automatic six-month driver’s license suspension for a first-time offense of weed possession, but that stipulation was taken out of the law during the 2017 legislative session.

The penalties for the sale, manufacture or trafficking of pot are even more devastating.

A felony conviction of the sale of between a half an ounce to five pounds of pot will lead to one to 10 years in prison and a $2,500 fine. Anyone convicted of selling between five pounds and 100 kilograms of pot will spend five to 30 years in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Medicinal Marijuana

Almost, but not quite: Virginia is taking very small steps by authorizing the medical use of CBD oil. Unfortunately, it’s still illegal to possess it.

Virginia’s medicinal cannabis laws can best be summed up:

More than 24 bills addressing Virginia marijuana laws were introduced during the 2017 session. This is a good sign that lawmakers in the state are open to not only making the plant more accessible for certain medical reasons, but also being more lenient on people convicted of simple possession. However, a large number of legislators are vehemently opposed to any changes.

Hemp Laws

Va. Code § 3.2-4112 to 3.2-4120 (2016)

In January of 2016, the Virginia House of Representatives voted unanimously to legalize hemp farming.

Authorizes research and commercial hemp programs overseen by the Virginia Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services and the Virginia commissioner of agriculture and human services.

The commissioner must establish separate licenses for the research program and for commercial growers.

Nothing in the statute allows individuals to violate federal laws.

For more information:

State Hemp Statutes

MarijuanaDoctors-pendinglegalization-Virginia

VA NORML-Pot Penalties

Virginia Marijuana Laws

Related posts

A Quісk Guide to Mеdісаl Cаnnаbіѕ іn Cаlіfоrnіа

creativemind

North Carolina Cannabis State Laws

creativemind

Minnesota Cannabis State Laws

creativemind

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: